Poem: A Union of Öpposites

40

May 2 by The Running Son

305669_502688633097226_1785424327_n

A Union of Öpposites

v5.19 v.5.27

 

 

She sits,
as I did, then I stood.
Now I feel free to explain
in verse, firstly, that I value
these two facts: father heaven, and mother-earth.

Then, in a second,
when my baby asks in that particular dynamic
supplication of universal static,
“why are God and man
always at it?”

Inside I want to rise–
her essential personality shines through
and silently outside,
and now alone,
smoke in the lowering light, I tell her:

I have never seen and absorbed
together such complex purity, girl,
as you.
Simply put though, she knows there’s more.
As the light grows dim,

she knows I’m not through. So, I come back in.
Could I underestimate her less?
Mom always did know best,
but now she knows like they all do
this description begins, and ends,

with you:

of a being
prescribing destinations,
but who may be coming too fast
to his end,
and whose broad and sacred journey

may have
met up with him too fast, at a sharp bend.
And he is becoming dull, and profane,
and is sometimes just straight cruel–
No true victim of odd division,
or devil, up

and thrown down from out of heaven,
or even falsely accused.
But if I’m right girl, you always knew.
So tell me
what potential is there that this I,

the one between the two

of us, who ought to have known,
blind to what I always knew,
sitting down now,
feeling rightly low, can actually
process this goal,

somehow, in the one-spirit
of the many old human souls,
and find new divinity
multiplying thou by I, no more call
to sub-divide, you only in my eyes

and you only by my side
finally unified
to create the
I–family,
a unified

 

whole.

 

 

 

 

by Jim Aldrich

Related:

All art by Jim Aldrich

All Poetry by Jim Aldrich

.

END

The Running Father Blog

40 thoughts on “Poem: A Union of Öpposites

  1. i might add – with closed eyes not thinking – exquisite
    and i now propose to do the rest

  2. the land of opposites – the physical plane – souls incarnate to experience it and evolve (painfully – cant be helped and necessary) – saints seek to be on top of it – overcome the opposites – God created a sun with shadows – so accept that these are dumbells to build your muscles – yet sitting quietly try and overcome pain and pleasure – the excercise – and yes, nothing ‘unites’ like a child’s innocence – you said it – to overcome the opposites – that is why they are called the angels, yet to bite into the ‘apple’ of ego – have i misunerstood your poem as i amy often do – and that is what poems are for – multiple meanings – no explanations – ha

  3. You have an old soul that has experienced much and wants to give and be met and yet meet. I don’t know it made me feel sad because she sat and you stood. I know that feels risking with someone that is totally opposite is scary, yet exciting and I totally didn’t get them at all. Unfortunately I was aiming at his heart and he was to afraid to let him in I simply cannot be let in. I don’t want meaningless deposits into someone life I want to deposits love and goodness but sometimes hearts are seared and you don’t get to be whole and one with them but it’s ok. But still sad and I never stop wondering would he have ever let me in? I think not! I love this you certainly get me thinking!

  4. Tucson Blonde says:

    touching… I bet I could read this one (and your original) over and over again and see things differently.

    I can feel how exhausting it must have made you feel!

  5. FlutePlayer says:

    Yin and yang.

  6. WilderSoul says:

    That is a very beautiful poem, in my humble opinion! And in the same sort of tone as the dove one. I like it a lot. I will get through the list gradually, in instalments. Next stop, the Matrix!

  7. […] energetic ability to make good on all the polar opposites in my life, beginning with a poem, The Union of Opposites, which I just received constructive criticism on. Didn’t take it well. Whew. O […]

  8. […] you. And if anythings broken, can you drop a comment? . Several hours and days ago: . •Poem: A Union of Opposites •on blog schizophrenia poetry battles and doing art like its armageddon •the ex aint coming to […]

  9. Great poem, it flows nicely. Were you wanting to enter a poetry contest? I’m having one over at onepoemeveryday.wordpress.com. If you’re interested, would love to read more. I’m not judging, I’ve asked some local artists to judge. You can find everything out on the blog http://onepoemeveryday.wordpress.com/2013/04/30/poetry-contest-call-for-entries/. There’s no entry fee. Happy writing!

  10. […] was up half the night writing a new poem, A Union of Opposites, which wore me out more emotionally than any writing ever did. I am in no place to take this […]

  11. Do you do any of the poetry prompts at Writers Digest? A friend of mine runs them. You should try it.

♫ Talk to Jim...

RFB editor Jim Aldrich, Joshua Tree CA 2013

RunningSon aka Jim Aldrich, Joshua Tree CA 2013 | This site is dedicated with the deepest gratitude to Dr. Cláudio Naranjo, whose writings gave me life.

  • 199,692 souls hit the RFB

Click to Follow the RFB!

Join 1,021 other followers

Recent Posts…

Some RFB Followers…

Flag Counter
DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

via GiantGag.com

Killing time just got a lot funnier !

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

The shadows of a dream

Words walking the tightrope from functionality to versification.

Petals Unfolding

~Authentically Creating My Life According To Me~

A 7 letter word.

I am my Name.

galaktikapoetikeatunis

A topnotch WordPress.com site

forgottenmeadows

thoughts from my mind to yours

A Mirror Obscura,

Poetry, musings and sightings from where the country changes

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

Bilder

Ein schöner Tag - wenn er zu Ende geht, ist nichts mehr, wie es war...

realtalented

Im here to expose true talent

phillymanjim's Blog

Poetry, Musings, Photographs

Never Quite Broken

What you did not build up, you cannot tear down.

Blog It Or Lose It

Paloma's Pen

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

JamesRadcliffe.com

James Radcliffe, Musician. Music, Blog, Pictures, Live, News...

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

seanbidd.wordpress.com/

Nomadic & transient tales from a boutique photographer, writer and multimedia creative.

belsbror

Simple Living

Papermashed

Small ideas on paper, large enough for the minds.

leather green gargoyle

what I hear, what I read, what I write

Gray Poet

Just a place to express my poems.

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

sharkouni

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Mr.Sahrul Santri

SaSatorial_SahrulSantriTutorial

Notes on a Spanish Valley

Award-winning blog - Living in rural Andalucia

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

idealisticrebel

Women's Issues, Peace, Creativity & Spirituality

intotheindigo

My muse's quiet amusement

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

Poemotherapi Shoppe

"Oh How Art Thou Love Of Poetry"

hammerwerk

light_and_shadow

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

∙ tenderheartmusings ∙

we were born naked onto the page of existence; with nothing but the pen of our soul to write ourselves into eternal ecstasy ~ DreamingBear Baraka Kanaan

"we'll never be royals."

Small artists with big potential and lots of cliché.

a3maal اعمال

www.a3maal.me

awomansaved

Writngs of a saved woman

poems

FROM THE WOLF'S MOUTH >> PAMELA LANGEVIN

ldr13

A Long Distance Relationship Blog. Join the FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/theLDRdiaries13

