RunningSon speaks… and an update about a break

27

June 27 by The Running Son

I have been needing to write this post for awhile. Strangely to some of you, and a known phenomenon to others (I hope), I have found it difficult to communicate in ways other than poetry. I am a pretty emotional guy, especially lately, and the more intense the emotions get, the more I encrypt them in poetry and symbol, and the less freedom I find in just plain talking.

 

But behind my stream of poetry, my personal life has changed dramatically. I started blogging in February a sufferer of depression, stranded in the California desert, spiritually comatose and, privately, tired and hopeless. Today I am alive.

 

Some of you saw that change in me. It was around May 5th that, through poetry and the help of followers, and circumstance, I experienced a very special acceptance of myself and life, and it came out in poems.

 

Something else happened though. If you read recent poems you know. I met someone, a fellow blogger in the midst of this period of growth, and fell in love. Then I fell 1000 feet crazy in love. Then, I started thinking about my future. Now, I am beginning to execute plans.

 

I am moving out of the high desert to The city to be with my ailing father, and to get myself stable and secure. Then, I am off in to a mysterious future, full of all the possibilities I had long since given up on.

 

I need to pack and prepare to move, something I am not skilled at, and do not enjoy. I will be taking a break from most blogging duties for a few days, in order to get my many chores done.

 

I want to mention I have a Running Son faceBook companion page, for anyone interested. I hate promoting and self promotion, but some prefer accessing poems through FB rather than the WordPress interface. Plus, most of my unpublished poems and prose end up being posted there. Check it out. Little button at the extreme top of this page.

 

I want to thank my followers. Since I have trouble sometimes just speaking in conversation tones, I dont get to say that… but thank you. Love you guys.

 

Jim

27 thoughts on “RunningSon speaks… and an update about a break

  1. Shainbird says:

    Best wishes Jim, it is wonderful that poetry has become such a powerhouse and a beacon for you! Words are mighty! Stay well!

  2. 1WriteWay says:

    Thanks for this post, Jim. You’ve been on an amazing journey, and I’m glad to hear it will continue 🙂 I wish you the best with your move and your new love and your plans for the future. I look forward to hearing more from you as your time permits. Now, for some reason, I’m getting choked up. Stay safe, my friend.

    • Marie honey, if there is one example of the reality of my blogging experience, as a life impacting event, it is your support and presence through what, I can say now with perspective and confidence, was the most dynamic experience of my life. I will remember you right in the center of it, concerned when concern was absolutely appropriate and needed. No one poem or post could pay tribute enough. I hope you know this.

      Yours by circumstance woven with fate,

      Jim ♫

  3. Bastet says:

    Have a wonderful journey! I hope to see you soon… 🙂

  4. Be well, I’m glad things are getting better between you and your Dad. .I’m so glad for your unfolding.. Keep it up and hope to hear from you soon.

    Something, one of my favorite quote, to take on your journey:
    Don’t aim at success. The more you aim at it and make it a target, the more you are going to miss it. For success, like happiness, cannot be pursued; it must ensue, and it only does so as the unintended side effect of [one’s personal dedication to a cause greater than oneself or as the by-product of one’s surrender to a person other than oneself.] [in highlights] Happiness must happen, and the same holds for success: you have to let it happen by not caring about it. I want you to listen to what your conscience commands you to do and go on to carry it out to the best of your knowledge. Then you will live to see that in the long-run—in the long-run, I say!—success will follow you precisely because you had forgotten to think about it” Victor Frankl.

    Michal

    • haha I didn’t know this was a quote until the end! Such wise words..I took them in. While success can be meant in a few different ways, the principals apply as well when I insert ‘goal’ or ‘desire’…meaning success within the framework of heart-needs rather than the American “status” connotation associated with success. I will try to remind myself of this often, and avoid chasing “false holographic future-constructs”, or “imaging” as Fritz Pearls called it.

      ty Michal, Jim

  5. Congratulations! Sounds like you are on a great journey! Much love, and hope to see you back on WordPress soon.

  6. My friend, beautiful, simply beautiful.

  7. Sooo cool 🙂 Finding redemption through writing, blogging, connecting with others.
    I am floored.

    • I have been thinking a lot about writing poetry or blogging as pure hobby, or business venture. Both legitimate. But I also know now that many, not just me, are life bloggers, meaning that they are in a position in life…stranded, sick, hurting, etc…where blogging nearly equals life, or where the influence it has is therapeutic, or even cathartic. It is a new reality, and for many it is their window into a world as real as the one surrounding them. ty Monika!

      • WilderSoul says:

        Jim,
        So true.
        (Therapeutic blogging.)
        Wish you all the best with the packing and chores. It is such a mission to move house.
        Hope help comes looking for you when it is needed. 😉
        Your story inspires me.
        ~WilderSoul.

        • Thank you WS. Unfortunately, no help is expected. I am as stranded out here as if I was on the moon, but the accomplishment will mean something, facing this packing and sorting and planning alone.

          • WilderSoul says:

            It will indeed be an accomplishment.

            A big one.

            It is possible for help to arrive unexpectedly and out-of-the-blue. Even in the most deserted of places.

            Would you prefer help? Or prefer to accomplish the task alone?

            Anasera

            • You made me stop and think. I am a creative guy, but I cannot imagine how you, or anyone, could assist given the facts. I asked someone to nag me, but from a distance. Nope, while I would as soon snap my fingers and have the whole mess done with, I think under the best of circumstances, It’s on me, and probably for the best. After all, packing to move is not advanced trigonometry: this is more a clever psychological blockade I need to attack.

            • WilderSoul says:

              Interesting…. I am reading a little between the lines here… well, the lines that stand out are:

              the facts
              the circumstances

              Snap my fingers and have the whole mess done with

              I like the way you call it a clever psychological blockade.

              Have you thought of prayer?
              Ask and ye shall receive…. having faith it is already done.

              That’s why I asked, what would you *prefer.*

              Love to you.
              Anasera

            • Anasera, I will do my best to read between the lines too. If you have a trip planned to California, say, to go to Disneyland, and wanted to take a side-trip to Joshua Tree, I would happily allow you to coach my lazy ass at packing to move.

              Anything other than that scenario is crazy, you know that? (: You are appreciated more than you know.

              Jim

♫ Talk to Jim...

RFB editor Jim Aldrich, Joshua Tree CA 2013

RunningSon aka Jim Aldrich, Joshua Tree CA 2013 | This site is dedicated with the deepest gratitude to Dr. Cláudio Naranjo, whose writings gave me life.

  • 210,186 souls hit the RFB

Click to Follow the RFB!

Join 1,022 other followers

Recent Posts…

Some RFB Followers…

Flag Counter
DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

via GiantGag.com

Killing time just got a lot funnier !

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

The shadows of a dream

Words walking the tightrope from functionality to versification.

Petals Unfolding

~Love Is Freedom~

A 7 letter word.

I am my Name.

galaktikapoetikeatunis

A topnotch WordPress.com site

forgottenmeadows

thoughts from my mind to yours

A Mirror Obscura,

Poetry, musings and sightings from where the country changes

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

Bilder

Ein schöner Tag - wenn er zu Ende geht, ist nichts mehr, wie es war...

realtalented

Im here to expose true talent

phillymanjim's Blog

Poetry, Musings, Photographs

Never Quite Broken

What you did not build up, you cannot tear down.

Blog It Or Lose It

Paloma's Pen

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

seanbidd.wordpress.com/

Nomadic & transient tales from a boutique photographer, writer and multimedia creative.

belsbror

Simple Living

Papermashed

Small ideas on paper, large enough for the minds.

leather green gargoyle

what I hear, what I read, what I write

Gray Poet

Just a place to express my poems.

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

sharkouni

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Mr.Sahrul Santri

SaSatorial_SahrulSantriTutorial

Notes on a Spanish Valley

Award-winning blog - Living in rural Andalucia

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

idealisticrebel

Women's Issues, Peace, Creativity & Spirituality

intotheindigo

My muse's quiet amusement

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

Poemotherapi Shoppe

"Oh How Art Thou Love Of Poetry"

hammerwerk

light_and_shadow

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

∙ tenderheartmusings ∙

we were born naked onto the page of existence; with nothing but the pen of our soul to write ourselves into eternal ecstasy ~ DreamingBear Baraka Kanaan

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

"we'll never be royals."

Small artists with big potential and lots of cliché.

a3maal اعمال

www.a3maal.me

awomansaved

Writngs of a saved woman

poems

FROM THE WOLF'S MOUTH >> PAMELA LANGEVIN

ldr13

A Long Distance Relationship Blog. Join the FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/theLDRdiaries13

