◦ Joshua Tree, for Belinda ◦

28

October 1 by The Running Son

for Belinda_00003

 

Joshua Tree, for Belind

When I began the RunningFather blog I quickly met a few wonderful bloggers. One was Belinda. She has remained special to me ever since, and I am gladdened to see her supported by the WordPress community. I’ll put it simply: If I were limited to only 5 WordPress followers, she would be atop that list while I labored over the rest.

So, for Belinda at BusyMindThinking, here is a small tour of my small slice of the world.

Sincerely, Jim

 

 

for Belinda_00006

Welcome to Southern California, and the city of Joshua Tree! The population sign says 8,000 people, and I believe it. Joshua Tree city is located right near the main entrance to Joshua Tree National Park.

DSCN0521

My house is a typical desert house. That’s my dog Buster Brown enjoying the shade and warm sand in the front yard.

for Belinda_00004

The city may have 3 traffic lights, but it has only one bar: The Joshua Tree Saloon. What you cannot see in my photo is that they host karaoke every Wednesday and Friday nights whoooohoooo! (plus, Bingo Sunday afternoon at the traveler’s lodge. Party down…)

for Belinda_00005

The skies can be dramatic. Visibility seems to go on past the earth’s curvature…

IMG_20130926_150936

The roads are open and clear… just tourists, some marines from the nearby military base in 29 Palms, and weekenders on their way through Joshua Tree to “the river”… the Colorado river that is.

for Belinda_00007

The desert exacts a price on every thing.

for Belinda_00001

Its brutal aridity draws moisture out of anything subjected to it.

IMG_20130930_074359

But beauty is reflected in the strangest of places…

for Belinda_00002

and upon close inspection, the desert exemplifies the life-force itself.

Sunrise VI 2012-12-13

The sunrises and sunsets can overwhelm the senses. This is how our ancient ancestors pondered God.

IMG_20130930_075353a

And this is where I ponder as well, for now. (=

Bless you Belinda! ☼♫

photos of Joshua Tree

©2013 JimAldrich

All Poetry by RunningSon, aka Jim Aldrich

.namaste.   -• ö.tH(ink)Mÿstiç •-   .namaste.

28 thoughts on “◦ Joshua Tree, for Belinda ◦

  1. 1WriteWay says:

    Wonderful photos, Jim! I quite agree with Belinda. The desert and you are very attractive 🙂 Loved taking this journey with us. The desert is a strange place. So harsh, yet so beautiful. Namaste 🙂

  2. What beautiful photos capturing the dessert!! and befitting to have this a tribute for Belinda…she is a very special woman who as touched the hearts of many…a generous heart and amazing writer and person:) A had a “spiritual walk” last week and was inspired by the spirit of Belinda, so she truly does has mystical and magical powers. God bless:) Oliana

    • A beautiful comment Oliana! I do hope Belinda stops back in to read it. What amazes me about Belinda is the persistence of her good nature… with all she is going through, nobody would blame her for feeling low, yet she shines like the sun and has every day since I met her in April. Amazing!

  3. Shainbird says:

    So lovely Jim! Your photography captures the beauty of the desert.

  4. Wow Jim what an awesome tribute to one sweet sweet lady who wins hearts and blesses us all! I love your photos! Great post!😃

  5. acuriousgal says:

    Love your descriptions and pics of your wonderful town!! I’m sure Belinda is much appreciative!!

  6. Reblogged this on Busy Mind Thinking and commented:
    This is a gift from my friend Jim! We have known each other since I began my journey here. Once we did a little challenge in writing and I had the time of my life! Thanks to Jim I was able to meet so many of you. I am very loyal to my friends and never forget how each has helped support me here. Jim is an artist and a poet… an extremely talented man. You made my day with this post. Huge hugs

  7. Jim, oh my, how to say thank you appropriately?! Beauty is to be found wherever we decide to look, I believe that! The photos are incredible! You appear as I would expect you to in your picture, the eyes always speak most clearly! It’s a great picture of you! I always get shy to tell male friends here when they’re handsome, but consider it thought and said. I always think about my first friends here and how we all journey together. You are all treasured and cared for and I am truly too blessed. Huge hugs. You’re really someone special.

    • Thank you for the wonderful complement B! I am a nostalgic guy to a fault and incredibly grateful for your support way back in the early days, and particularly around May. I am also conscientious, and worry, as you do, that I am not showing my appreciation. You are the poster girl for friendly blogging. I am still working on it.. heh. Bless you B!

      • I feel you’ve accomplished more then you realize my friend! Blessings to you too! I love where you live; though I know it isn’t where your heart wishes to be. I think about you both very often!

        • Thank you B! If I had my wish I’d be sitting here with you and Rv, sipping tea and enjoying the mild Autumn weather. The desert would be that much more beautiful with you two in it. ^_^

          • I keep hoping something will present itself so sooner rather then later, you can be together messaging me! Hugs to you both my friends. PS, Thanks for the compliment, blush, but I feel Rv could do that all on her own.

            • I would be surrounded by goddesses Belinda…simple as that. Arvs will be awake soon and she’ll get to travel the mean streets of Joshua Tree via my post as well! ♫

            • I will be very happy for her to see you in your own place; and to be able to visualize where you communicate from. Huge hugs

♫ Talk to Jim...

RFB editor Jim Aldrich, Joshua Tree CA 2013

RunningSon aka Jim Aldrich, Joshua Tree CA 2013 | This site is dedicated with the deepest gratitude to Dr. Cláudio Naranjo, whose writings gave me life.

  • 215,099 souls hit the RFB

Click to Follow the RFB!

Join 1,027 other followers

Recent Posts…

Some RFB Followers…

Flag Counter
DoubleU = W

WITHIN ARE PIECES OF ME

via GiantGag.com

Killing time just got a lot funnier !

UP!::urban po'E.Tree(s)

by po'E.T. and the colors of pi

The shadows of a dream

Words walking the tightrope from functionality to versification.

Petals Unfolding

~From My Heart to Your Heart~

A 7 letter word.

I am my Name.

galaktikapoetikeatunis

A topnotch WordPress.com site

forgottenmeadows

thoughts from my mind to yours

A Mirror Obscura,

Poetry, musings and sightings from where the country changes

annamosca

Poetic Landscapes Of The Spirit

Bilder

Ein schöner Tag - wenn er zu Ende geht, ist nichts mehr, wie es war...

realtalented

Im here to expose true talent

phillymanjim's Blog

Poetry, Musings, Photographs

Never Quite Broken

What you did not build up, you cannot tear down.

Blog It Or Lose It

Paloma's Pen

Eli Glasman

Site of author Eli Glasman

The Year(s) of Living Non-Judgmentally

Here and now, with all of it.

Tania Marie's Blog

Creating Life as a Work of Art

seanbidd.wordpress.com/

Nomadic & transient tales from a boutique photographer, writer and multimedia creative.

belsbror

Simple Living

Papermashed

Small ideas on paper, large enough for the minds.

leather green gargoyle

what I hear, what I read, what I write

Gray Poet

Just a place to express my poems.

HA's Place

musings of a self-proclaimed weirdo

sharkouni

The greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Mr.Sahrul Santri

SaSatorial_SahrulSantriTutorial

Notes on a Spanish Valley

Award-winning blog - Living in rural Andalucia

Wendy L. Macdonald

My faith is not shallow because I've been rescued from the deep.

idealisticrebel

Women's Issues, Peace, Creativity & Spirituality

intotheindigo

My muse's quiet amusement

The Bully Pulpit

(n): An office or position that provides its occupant with an outstanding opportunity to speak out on any issue.

Poemotherapi Shoppe

"Oh How Art Thou Love Of Poetry"

hammerwerk

light_and_shadow

I didn't have my glasses on....

A trip through life with fingers crossed and eternal optimism.

∙ tenderheartmusings ∙

we were born naked onto the page of existence; with nothing but the pen of our soul to write ourselves into eternal ecstasy ~ DreamingBear Baraka Kanaan

Traces of the Soul

Whispering insights of this, that, then and there

"we'll never be royals."

Small artists with big potential and lots of cliché.

a3maal اعمال

www.a3maal.me

awomansaved

Writngs of a saved woman

poems

FROM THE WOLF'S MOUTH >> PAMELA LANGEVIN

ldr13

A Long Distance Relationship Blog. Join the FB Page: https://www.facebook.com/theLDRdiaries13

